About Sudan

Sudan Population: 41,160,965

National or Regional Currency: Sudanese Pound | Currency Symbol: SDG

Sudan official languages: Arabic and English (With 114 native languages and more than 500 accents, Sudan has a diverse multilingual population.)

Sudan total area: 728,215 square miles (1,886,068 square kilometres) – (Sudan is the 16th largest country in the world by land area)

Sudan Nominal GDP: $187 billion | Nominal per capita GDP: $4,586

The Sudan has a 530-mile (853 km) coastline bordering the Red Sea.

The White Nile and the Blue Nile are the two tributaries of the Nile. These two tributaries merge at Khartoum—the capital of Sudan—becoming the Nile River proper before flowing into Egypt. Its other major tributaries are the Bahr el Ghazal, Sobat and Atbarah rivers.

The countries bordering the Sudan by land, are Libya, South Sudan, Egypt, Ethiopia, Eritrea, Chad, and the Central African Republic.

The Sudan is divided into 18 states.

The metric system is the legal standard, but a highly diverse system based on Egyptian and British standards is in local use for weights and measures.

There are 12 holidays in the Sudan.

Sudan commands an advantageous geographical position that includes:

Land frontiers: the total length of the land frontier is 6,780 km

• Arabic Republic of Egypt: 1,273 km

• Eritrea: 636 km

• Ethiopia: 727 km

• State of South Sudan: 1,973

• Central Africa: 448 km

• Chad: 1,340 km

• Libya: 383 km Sudan is a member state of the United Nations (UN), the Arab League (AL), the African Union (AU), the Organization of Islamic Conference (OIC), the Sahel and Sahara Alliance, the Inter-Governmental Association for Development and Desertification (IGADD), the Economic Commission for East and South Africa States (COMESA), the Greater Arab Free Trade Area and others. Sudan maintains diplomatic relations with most world states to advance its interests, reassert its geographic and cultural identity and contribute to regional as well as world peace and stability

Translate »